2086 Miles of Metastasis

image

I’ve been shooting arrows at the moon again,
Missing.
Arrows, slowly arcing infinitely
into the dark.

Telephone rings.
Heart stops.
Cancer.

I wish the world would pause.
And one week after the call, it did–
Transformers out,
No business,
Cell towers down,
No merchant copies,
No customers.
I stared at my blank television,
Powerless.

Telephone rings.
Update: Stage III
Hasn’t metastasized,
Hasn’t spread to the brain.

But hasn’t it?
Hasn’t it metastasized 2086 miles,
Pinging every cellphone tower,
Crawling from the phone in faulting words,
Uncomfortable laughter–
Your cancer,
Spreading,
To my brain,
To my heart.

*painting by Salvador Dali

Leave a Reply

